Human Preservation Project: SurvivalCode
admin | July 2, 2011
“..Update, Six!“
Well, the timer on MissionIceFly reached 0! Since that moment, a new stage of the ARG got unlocked, MissionIceFly/rescue.
This page contained a video, initially obfuscated, that became clearer (at least visually and sonically) once iceflies were retrieved in the previously mentioned locations.
The retrieved iceflies blinked for some time, in a sequence identified as Morse code. Unfortunately only few people seemed to be able to write down the sequence, and I haven’t come across yet to anybody having translated the complete message. Those who got part of the message seem to agree on the “.COM” end of it, which suggests we are dealing with a URL (probably “survivalcode.com“). This URL in fact appeared also in the video for a couple of frames, once all the iceflies were retrieved.
SurvivalCode.com prepares the next stage of the game. A video gives more texture to the whole experience, and characters become more defined.
You are then redirected to a small flash movie that sees you approaching the entrance of a facility. You are not granted access to this building yet, as a timer counts down to the moment in which I guess the door will open. Reaching this point unlocks a set of log files in your profile page, in the form of pieces of concept art.

Another interesting detail: In the profile page there’s an image that seem to be a QR code. I initially tried to decode it, unsuccessfully.
The structure of the page makes me believe that we are dealing with only a section of the code itself, which will be unveiled later in the experience. What we are seeing now is only 1/9th of the code, hence the fact that we can’t decode it yet. Moreover, this fragment of the code seem to be the same for all users.

If you are not already, you should definitely follow the #missionicefly hashtag. Quite a lot of updates in there!
UPDATE:

..as @eolith pointed out, one of the log files mentions the “Traelek Institute“, which happens to own a site. On the footer of its homepage we can find a phone number, which he suggests to call.
Also three other valid subdirectories were found (even if I don’t know exactly how):
- http://traelekinstitute.com/misguided/
- http://traelekinstitute.com/ascent/
- http://www.traelekinstitute.com/blameless/

..and a new one I just found googling “site:traelekinstitute.com”..
This is definitely a legit lead.
UPDATE 2:
Here the transcription of the prerecorded message that met those who called the above mentioned number:
“”Thank you for calling the Traelek Institute, celebrating its 25th year of operations. Please listen to a word association quiz that we issue to new students upon matriculation: DECOY. ASCENT. BLAMELESS. MISGUIDED. What do these terms illicit in your mind’s eye? There are no correct answers, only questions. At the Trealek Institute, we believe that the pursuit of sensory data is its own reward, so check back at our website if you have any fresh impulses as a result of the quiz you just sampled. Goodbye.”“1″ -- “Thank you for calling. Please leave a message, and your call will be returned as soon as possible.” [beep]
“2″ -- “Thank you for calling. Please leave a message, and your call will be returned as soon as possible.” [beep]
“3″ -- “Thank you for calling. Please leave a message, and your call will be returned as soon as possible.” [beep]
“4″ -- “Thank you for calling. Please leave a message, and your call will be returned as soon as possible.” [beep]
“5″ -- “Invalid extension.” [beep]
“6″ -- Made a weird noise… just a short little hiccup of a sound clip that sounds kind of like someone inhaling sharply. Then it seems like it’s waiting for some kind of PIN number or command. I’ve tried a bunch of combinations, always resulting in: “The number you have entered is invalid.” You get three tries, then: ”Goodbye.” [disconnect]









